What Are the Penalties for a Hit-and-Run in Arizona?
Hit-and-run accidents are a serious crime in Arizona. Leaving the scene of an accident without stopping can result in hefty fines and even prison time, especially if someone was injured or killed. Here’s everything you need to know about Arizona’s hit-and-run laws and the penalties for violating them.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident: Arizona’s Hit and Run Laws
Arizona revised statute (ARS) 28-662 requires any driver involved in an accident that causes damage to another vehicle to stop at the scene, without impeding traffic. If you are unable to stop right away, you must return to the scene of the accident as quickly as possible.
Under ARS 28-663, you must also provide your name, address, and vehicle registration number to the other driver(s) involved, and render reasonable assistance to anyone who was injured in the accident.
Violating either of these laws is considered leaving the scene of an accident—more commonly known as a hit-and-run—and it is a serious crime that can result in significant penalties.
What Are the Penalties for a Hit and Run in Arizona?
The penalties for a hit-and-run will vary depending on the severity of the accident, the extent of property damage, and whether anyone was injured or killed.
For instance, failing to offer information or reasonable assistance at the scene of an accident is typically a class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties for this charge are $500 in fines and up to 30 days in jail.
If you commit a hit-and-run and the accident you caused results in serious physical injury or death, you may be charged with a class 2 felony. The consequences are a maximum of 21 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines, plus additional fees and surcharges.
You may be charged with a class 3 felony if you didn’t cause the accident that resulted in injury or death, but still failed to stop at the scene. A class 3 felony can earn you up to 15 years in prison, as well as a maximum of $150,000 in fines and additional fees and surcharges.
A hit-and-run is considered a class 5 felony if the accident didn’t cause injury or death, but you didn’t stop at the scene of the accident. Class 5 felonies can result in a maximum of 4 years of prison time, fines up to $150,000, and additional fees and surcharges.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for a Hit-and-Run Accident in Arizona?
Every crime has a statute of limitations, which is the length of time that law enforcement has to legally apprehend a suspect. Hit-and-run accidents typically have a statute of limitations of 1 to 3 years after the date of the accident. The more severe the accident, the longer the statute of limitations will be.
If a crime was committed during the hit-and-run, the statute of limitations can last even longer. For instance, if the driver intentionally ran over someone and killed them, then the crime would be treated as a homicide. In Arizona, homicide has no statute of limitations, so the case can be pursued at any point in time.
Hit-and-Run Defense Lawyer in Scottsdale, Arizona
The legal consequences for hit-and-run accidents can be severe. If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident in Arizona, it’s crucial that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The attorneys at Van Norman Law will work with you to build a strong defense and protect your rights. Give us a call at 480-481-0616 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.
Images used under creative commons license – commercial use (4/20/2023). Photo by Jay Heike on Unsplash